Foodtrip Fridays

Disclaimer: I am not a food blogger. Consider this post as part of “everything in between”.

Everybody loves Fridays, except for the heavy traffic and almost zero parking space, of course. Friday is probably the best day for a working person to relax and unwind and if I’m serious about wanting to relax, I would not consider going to the mall. These days,  I would normally go to places with less people and less noise, and Quezon City has sidestreets that cater to my Friday needs.

Teachers Village

Maginhawa Street boasts of a number of restaurants, cafes and tea shops. The street’s name translates in English as comfortable and convenient, and it is what its name describes it to be. If you want to have good food in a relaxed, quiet environment, head to Maginhawa St. and you will surely find a place there. Have salad, pasta or churros at Sancho’s. Eat at Van Gogh is Bipolar (this I have yet to try). My timing is really bad whenever I plan to go there. My friend has told me a lot about this place and I have to see it for myself. Pino, located along Maligap St.,  a restaurant that serves vegetarian dishes, is also a must-try. Although I’m not vegetarian, I actually appreciate the food they serve there.

Pipino

At Pipino

tofu satay

Tofu Satay

I think I lost or misplaced the digital copy of these photos. Good thing I managed to print them out.

tofu scramble

Tofu Scramble

garlic pasta

Garlic Pasta

 

 

 

Banawe St.

My family used to frequent this place when I was younger. Whenever we had to celebrate something, birthday, graduation, anniversary, we go here. The family’s favorite would have to be Chinatown’s Best. the first floor serves ala carte dishes, while the second floor offers an Eat-All-You-Can buffet. Chinatown’s Best is located along Banawe St. cor. Don Manuel Aggregado St.

Also along Banawe St., just before you reach Del Monte Ave., is Bodhi Restaurant. It offers a variety of vegetarian dishes. My favorite is their veggie meat barbecue. I used to think vegetarian food is bland and tasteless, but they’re actually flavorful.

Mother Ignacia St.

I just discovered that Mo. Ignacia St. is a food haven. These two restaurants I’ve visited these past two weeks are a perfect blend of good food and cozy ambiance. Just two weeks ago, my friend suggested that we eat at The Vegetarian Kitchen located at the back of St. Mary’s College. They serve mostly vegetarian dishes, desserts and unique-tasting fruit juices. I had a generous serving of Korean spareribs with cold spinach salad and buttered rice, which is a best seller. My friend decided to try crispy tofu with sweet and sour sauce.

korean spareribs

Korean spareribs

crispy tofu

Crispy Tofu

A short walk from The Vegetarian Kitchen is Teacup. Last week I was looking for a restaurant along Mo. Ignacia St. where my friend and I could eat and discuss, and where we could have free wifi internet accesss. In search of the perfect place, I was directed to this blog. Her post was very convincing, I didn’t go looking for another retaurant. When my friend and I got there, the mood was indeed very welcoming. The servers were nice and friendly. Overall, the food we ordered was good and delicious. It was a lovely dining experience. We would definitely come back, for the great food and kind service.

inside teacup

From the inside. The warm atmosphere welcomes every guest that dines here.
pesto carbonara

Pesto Carbonara

Meaty Lasagna

Meaty Lasagna

Teacup

Teacup is located at the Ground Floor of Pentagrand Bldg. Mo. Ignacia St., Quezon City.

Leave a Reply

